Organization of the Center

The organizational structure of the Flash Center consists of the Director, the Associate Director, the Management Group, and three research groups. The research groups are the following:

High Energy Density Physics (Group Leader: Don Lamb).
The High Energy Density Physics (HEDP) Group uses the FLASH code to simulate the physics of plasmas that are very hot and dense. The primary research focus involves modeling experiments that study the properties of self-generated magnetic fields in plasmas. This research has relevance to basic science, cosmology/astrophysics, inertial confinement fusion and fusion energy.

Code (Group Leader: Petros Tzeferacos).
The Code Group is focused on adding capabilities to the FLASH code that enable HEDP simulations, in addition to maintaining the code that carries out the core astrophysics calculations. Its members include physicists, engineers and computer scientists. They are also responsible for porting, distribution and user support of the FLASH code.

The Astrophysics Group is carrying out simulations of Type Ia (thermonuclear-powered) and Type Ib/c and Type II (core collapse) supernovae and validating current models of these explosions against observations. The group also studies key physical processes in these events.
Contact Information The Flash Center Management Group coordinates the activities of the Center on a daily basis. The members of the Management Group are Don Q. Lamb (Director, HEDP Group Lead), Petros Tzeferacos (Associate Director, Code Group Lead), and Ellen Harder (Business Administrator).